Home Cryptocurency ExchangesHigh Priestess | Ripple Music
High Priestess | Ripple Music

High Priestess | Ripple Music

Los Angeles psychedelic doom metal band High Priestess has signed to Ripple Music (Mothership, BANG). The underground buzz band, quickly becoming known for its compellingly hypnotic heavy music.

Formed in 2016, High Priestess features bassist/vocalist Mariana Fiel, drummer Megan Mullins and vocalist / guitarist / organist Katie Gilchrest. The trio self-released a five-song demo in July 2017 that, through sheer word-of-mouth, gained high critical praise and earned the band a growing fan base due to its tonally rich riffs, perfectly pacing, meditative moods, metallic noise, underlying command and the intertwining vocal melodies of Gilchrest and Fiel atop Mullins’ drums. High Priestess was recently spotlighted by LA Weekly as part of a focus feature titled “Three Bands That Prove L.A.’s Modern Doom-Metal Scene Is Maturing”; the country’s largest alt-weekly noting that “High Priestess have so far recorded one self-released demo, but the strength of that demo and local live performances has made the band stand out fairly quickly.”

Now signed to Ripple Music, High Priestess’ celebrated demo will enjoy a full release on May 18 as the group’s self-titled debut. Striking cover art by California artist Caitlin Mattisson (Chelsea Wolfe, The Black Angels) adds to the album’s potent allure.

High Priestess has announced North American tour dates in support of the debut LP. Set to launch on May 28, the west coast run will also feature Ripple label mates Ape Machine and Salem’s Bend. The tour itinerary is as follows:

Track listing:

1.) Firefly

2.) Despise

3.) Banshee

4.) Take the Blame

5.) Mother Forgive Me

6.) Earth Dive

High Priestess is:

Katie Gilchrest: guitar, vocals, keyboards

Mariana Fiel: bass, vocals

Megan Mullins: drums, percussion

Recorded at the High Priestess rehearsal space May 2017 and December 2017, Los Angeles, CA

Produced by High Priestess

Mixed and Mastered by Katie Gilchrest at Mythology Mastering, Los Angeles, CA

All songs written by High Priestess

Special thanks to: Matt Price, Christine Kelly, Todd Severin, Matt Bacon, Clint Willis, Collyn McCoy, Chris Brown, Duffey Westlake, Jason & Andrea Casanova, Dan Truly, Gonçalo Granhão, Josh Mullins, and Paul Faulk at Gremlin Noise Machines

“High Priestess have so far recorded one self-released demo, but the strength of that demo and local live performances has made the band stand out fairly quickly. They’re a power trio in every sense of the word: Fiel’s repetitive rumbling bass riffs combine with Gilchrest’s psychedelic world music–infused guitar work and Mullins’ ability to rain down every cymbal crash with brute force to create one of the more compellingly hypnotic doom-metal releases of 2017.” – LA WEEKLY


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Human Verification: In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.